In the Hood
Leave a Comment

Morning Light in the City

SoWa Boston

Tuesday morning I needed to be at my SoWa Boston studio by 7 am. Someone was coming to remove a wall in the entryway of the studio. Originally he’d wanted to start the job at 6 am, and it was welcome news when he decided it didn’t need to happen that early.

I was up at 5:15 am. After some coffee and much needed stretching, I headed out in my warmest winter jacket, hat and gloves. The air was cold and sharp. As I made the 6 block trek from home to studio, walking fast to get there quickly, I was glad to be dressed well for the weather.

The early light on the brick buildings along the way caught my eye, but I didn’t have time to slow down and take it in. When I arrived at 7 am, Mike was already there waiting for me, earning him the title of the only on-time contractor I’ve met so far. Once he’d brought in all his equipment, I left him alone there to do his thing.

Back outside around 7:15, the low sun was beginning to warm the building exteriors all around me. Adding to the warm glow was steam pouring out a building vent. Despite the cold air, I was happy to take off my gloves to grab a few photos.

Paula Ogier SoWa Boston

Paula Ogier SoWa Boston

I don’t normally go out walking that early this time of year without a reason. Now that I’ve been reminded of how pretty the early sunlight is, I’ve got a reason. I’ll make a point to do it again soon.

Cheers,

Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: In the Hood

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

