Pattern Recognition
Leave a Comment

I’m Beginning to See a Pattern

This new blue pattern design came after a long spell of not making patterns. In fact, I’ve not felt like making any art at all on my computer in recent months—probably a bit of burn-out after putting in long hours on a variety of digital artworks.

pattern design paula ogier

Plucky Blue (Copyright © 2016 Paula Ogier)

I didn’t want to worry about my disinterest. I believed the urge would come back, and it did. In the meantime, I took up jewelry-making! I bought an abundance of gemstones and I made about 10 necklaces. And then suddenly, it returned…I wanted to draw again.

For a period of several years I made pattern designs with an obsessive fervor. As soon as I’d finish one, I’d dive into another. If I awoke at 4 am and couldn’t get back to sleep, I’d slip out of bed, turn on my laptop, and create patterns in the dark while the city slept.

Eventually I got some licensing contracts with print-on-demand manufacturers who put my designs (many of them patterns) on things like sheet sets, duvet covers, furniture, throw pillows, mirror frames, flip flops, and personal checks and mailing labels.

For a number of years I designed annual wall calendars with humorous paintings of animals, and sometimes I’d use my patterns in those artworks. Perhaps as a wallpaper backdrop or on an article of clothing. Here’s one in which patterns were employed for both wallpaper and clothing (Hey! Remember Nehru jackets? No? Never mind, that’s okay):

Cow art Paula Ogier

Chardonnay Yogi (Copyright © 2010 Paula Ogier)

Here’s another used as wallpaper:

Cat art Paula Ogier

My Funny Valentine (Copyright © 2012 Paula Ogier)

Here’s one of my pattern designs applied to a piece of furniture:

Cat art Paula Ogier

Catnip Memoirs (Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

I have an idea for that “Plucky Blue” pattern at the top of this post. It came to me almost immediately while drawing it. I’ve long thought of making a humorous painting of my Siamese cat Sammy wearing a blue silk embroidered smoking jacket.

Why? BECAUSE.

Paula Ogier cat Sammy

Me ‘n Sammy

Have a great weekend.

Cheers,

Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: Pattern Recognition

by

Hi there. I’m artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about new works, projects in process, life as a working artist, life in Boston, and inspirations and challenges in growing an art business. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, talking to cats, food & drink, gardening, wandering around on foot, binge-watching well written shows, and of course, making art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is in Boston's SoWa Arts District at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

