The Art Biz, Uncategorized
Comments 2

Showing Art in a Virtual Setting

Sunday Morning Symphony

“Sunday Morning Symphony” by Paula Ogier, shown in a virtual setting

I’ve started pouring through interior stock photos at Shutterstock again, and purchasing some as virtual settings to show my art in. I did this a couple of years ago for a few of my artworks. I have a lot more new works now, so I decided to make some new ones, like the one you see here.

“In Situ” images, which these are known as, are a marketing tool that helps art buyers in visualizing how artworks might look in an interior setting.

It can be time-consuming to find photos with a lot of the elements I’m looking for — specific colors, vertical or horizontal orientation, simplicity, and a compatible interior style. Once I purchase a photo download, I layer one of my art pieces into the scene.

Just as often, there is some element in the photo that makes it difficult to use as is — too much visual clutter, vertical wall trim, an already present art frame that is too large or the wrong shape, or an busy object that competes for attention. I usually have to do some digital reworking of the photo to change those aspects.

Changing an art frame size means refilling in the wall around it to blend with the rest of the wall, including any shadows that might be there. If a lamp in the photo has a distracting pattern or size, I’ll need to repaint it or maybe even get rid of it altogether.

Here’s another example of the same artwork in a different interior setting:

Sunday Morning Symphony

“Sunday Morning Symphony” by Paula Ogier, shown in a virtual setting

The original interior photo, as purchased, included a sculpture of the Eiffel Tower on the green bureau. It was near to the center and jutted up into the artwork frame. Even though artwork can often look perfectly fine with an object partially in front of it, in this case I removed the sculpture. After all, my goal is for the art to be the main focus.

I’m currently working on a few more of these, and will post them when they’re finished. Thanks for reading.

Cheers,
Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: The Art Biz, Uncategorized

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

2 Comments

  1. Cool! What a clever idea. These two views you have composited look great. Although I have very rudimentary Photoshop skills, I sometimes enjoy modifying an image (to remove background clutter from a nice portrait of someone’s face, for example). Thank you for sharing this post with the rest of us. And your original artwork looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

