My Town
Leave a Comment

Back Bay Magnolias

P_Ogier_Back_Bay_Magnolias

“Back Bay Magnolias” (Copyright © 2016 Paula Ogier)

In April, many of downtown Boston’s sidewalks become lush with pink and white magnolia trees. A particularly striking display of blossoms can be found on Commonwealth Avenue in the Back Bay.

This painting was atypical for me as I don’t often paint floral scenes, but I decided to paint this in appreciation of the effect these lovely trees have on me. I also like the look of the sidewalks covered in fallen magnolia petals. Perhaps that will be one of next year’s paintings.

The building in the background was originally intended to be rendered as brick. And the original scene started with a photograph I took that included a brick building. I eventually decided to go with a more ambiguous look, however, by layering a multi-toned blue design behind the mortar that makes it appear as though it might be a glass building. With downtown Boston’s expansive range of architectural styles, it could easily be either!

Cheers,
Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

This entry was posted in: My Town

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

