In the Hood
Comments 2

The Noble Stoop

South End Boston art

Newly printed “Stoop Violets”

One of the charms of my Boston neighborhood is the stoop, usually with curvy wrought iron rails, that leads up to many a 1850s row house. It’s not at all uncommon to see front stoops adorned with potted flowering plants, just as soon as spring will allow.

I’ve taken a lot of photographs of these stoops in the past eight years, and recently I painted one of the photos translucently. The result is “Stoop Violets,” seen above.

“Stoop Violets” is a 16″ x 20″ giclée print, expertly printed by photographer Mark Peterson. Mark has been printing my work for over six years now, and he’s so good with color management.

Sometimes my color choices can be challenging to print, so I suspect he cringes a little when I bring him new work to print.

And now, here are just a few of the many stoops in Boston’s South End neighborhood:

South End stoop Paula Ogier

South End Boston Paula Ogier

South End stoops Paula Ogier

South End stoops Paula Ogier

South End Boston Paula Ogier

 

Cheers,
Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: In the Hood

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

2 Comments

  1. I love stoops. My grandmother had brick stoops on the front and side of her little house —first to be built on the block in the 1930s — in Queens, NY. I played a lot of stoop ball (bouncing a rubber ball off the steps) and card games (sitting on top of the stoop) with my neighborhood friends during June, July and August in the 1960s and early 70s… Thank you for documenting some of the much more elegant stoops in your neighborhood, Paula!

    Like

Leave a Reply

