Life in Boston
Leave a Comment

Sunday Morning Symphony

Paula Ogier artist

“Sunday Morning Symphony” by Paula Ogier

For those who live in a bustling city environment, early Sunday mornings can be pretty special. The streets and sidewalks are mostly unpopulated. It even feels a little otherworldly to be one of the few who are out and about. If Saturday night is the peak of city activity, Sunday morning is the nadir.

And it’s quiet, but in a way that makes otherwise unnoticed sounds — birds chirping, leaves rustled by the breeze, a garden hose spraying water — rise to the surface.

That’s more or less the feeling I was going for in my latest painting, Sunday Morning Symphony. Beautiful, sleepy-headed Sunday morning in the city.

This piece began with a photograph I took in Boston’s South End on Warren Avenue. I painted over it in 13 different layers, most of them completely opaque but a few with some translucence.

The color orange always seems infused with happiness to me, in practically the same way that I find the scent of a freshly peeled orange happiness-inducing. An orange pattern with a suggestion of musicality became the exterior of the row house in the forefront. I balanced this painting’s abundance of warm orange with some cool blues and greens.

If you’re in Boston, come see it in person! Come on over to this week’s First Friday open studios at 450 Harrison in the SoWa Art District. I’m in studio 203. You’ll find about 70 artists in our building with their studio doors open from 5-9 pm.

Cheers,
Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: Life in Boston

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

