Out on the Town
Leave a Comment

Rain Inspired Art

Back Bay art

“Rain in the Back Bay” (Copyright © 2016 Paula Ogier)

The last couple of weeks here in Boston went more or less like this: Rain. Rain. Rain. Cold. Wind. More rain. More rain. Rain again. Cold. Wind. Drizzle. Rain. Drizzle.

I’m not going to complain. It’s over now. Let’s just say it can make one weary.

“Rain in the Back Bay” is one of my newer pieces, a scene viewed from the vantage point of the Esplanade along the banks of the Charles River. There’s actually a high-speed road called Storrow Drive separating this scene from the Esplanade, and there are a series of footbridges for crossing over that road. My original image included some of the river, and that meant it also included cars zipping by between the water and the buildings.

Eventually I decided to crop it in closer, losing a few buildings, the cars, and the river, and zeroing in on what you see here. I like the juxtaposition of these centuries old residential buildings against the modern glass ones.

Here’s more of my city artwork.

Cheers,

Paula
Paula Ogier Artworks

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: Out on the Town

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

