Local Color
Comments 2

New Work: Chinatown Sky

Chinatown Boston

“Chinatown Sky” (Copyright © 2016 Paula Ogier)

Chinatown Sky (above) began with a photograph I took here in Boston in Chinatown.

I really liked the curve and shape of this building. I thought it could make for an interesting art subject, but sadly, once I had painted the photograph, I just didn’t find the overall piece interesting enough.

I couldn’t figure out what came next. I would quit and put it away repeatedly, sometimes for long periods of time. I hoped that with fresh eyes at a later date, I might see it differently. This went on for more than a year.

One day I decided to try a sky backdrop using some digital finger paintings I had made. I found that when I pieced them together, they formed what looks a bit like a lotus flower rising in the sky. That idea inspired me, as did the creamy and textural orange and pink streaks behind the building.

Eventually I felt that I wanted to focus on the sky and this particular building. That led me to take away a few of the buildings in the background. I wanted it sweet and simple: Curvaceous building, warm sky, cool moon.

And there you have it.

Thanks for reading,
Paula

p.s. The Chinatown Sky print is now available in my online store.

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: Local Color

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

2 Comments

  1. I like how you hung in there for many months, waiting for ongoing inspiration + creative impulses to coalesce into something new and magical…Thank you for sharing your process AND product.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Will. I’m sure this must happen with songwriting, too. You see something essential worth building on, but don’t always know right away what the supporting structure will be!

    Thank you for reading.

    Paula

    Like

Leave a Reply

