At Home
Leave a Comment

At Home: Morning Light

Paula Ogier morning light

Morning light does magical things.

Paula Ogier morning light

Not just to the objects around my home, but to my state of mind.

Paula Ogier morning light

We’ve lived in this home almost eight years now, and something I’ve consistently loved about being here is seeing the sun come up. I’m usually drinking coffee, stretching or exercising in direction of it.

Paula Ogier morning light

Those first couple of hours after the sun appears on the horizon (which in this case is the tops of old brick warehouse buildings about a block away), it infuses everything it touches in my home with gorgeous light.

Paula Ogier morning light

A mental health researcher who lives in my building recently said, “natural sunlight in the mornings is crucial to improving overall mental health by preventing depression, S.A.D., etc. especially during the fall/winter months.”

Paula Ogier morning light

I’ve long thought of myself as a solar-powered being. Sunlight gives me a sense of wellbeing. But I also just love the way light can look washing over things.

Paula Ogier morning light

I’ve been appreciating the early morning light at home even more lately, knowing that in a couple of years it won’t reach me so early. There’s a near-empty block right next to us. A developer wants to put up an 11 story and a 19 story building there, in the path of the sun on its way to my windows.

As I follow the sun’s path up the sky, it looks like that beautiful light won’t reach me until a few hours later.

In the meantime, I’m planning on loving the heck out of it.

Cheers,
Paula
Paula Ogier Artworks

This entry was posted in: At Home

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

