Local Color
Comments 4

Some Days I Can’t Draw a Straight Line

Some days I can’t make my pen go the way I want it to. I can draw the same line over and over again, and it’ll keep veering off course. It takes gnashing of teeth and crossing of eyes to make it work. Other days, no problem. Today was the former, unfortunately, but I did finish the coloring book page with the aerial view of the Boston Medical Center area.

Boston Medical Center

I actually prefer a slightly sketchy look. To my eye, it gives character. I don’t think the lines need to be perfectly straight. I started coloring it in because it helps me see the overall drawing better.

You might remember the little section of this that I was working on a day or two ago:

Boston Medical Center

I had to make a few changes to the Medical Center building, and I added in a lot of other details. Such as more trees, and windows, windows, and more windows. I draw pretty goofy looking cars, I have to admit, but I’m okay with that, too.

My South End Boston coloring book marches forward.

Til later!

Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

This entry was posted in: Local Color

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

4 Comments

  1. Liz Cahill says

    So much fun!! Love your blogs. Would like to put up on the Old Dover FB page, if you’re interested. And have mentioned to my colleague about featuring on the SoWa website somehow – whether linking to your Blog or just featuring your coloring book when you’re ready.

    Hope all is well, Liz Cahill

    On Tue, Mar 22, 2016 at 9:31 PM Let Me Illustrate My Point wrote:

    > Paula Ogier posted: “It’s true, some days I can’t make my pen go the way I > want it to. I can draw the same line over and over again, and it’ll keep > veering off course. It takes gnashing of teeth and crossing of eyes to make > it work. Other days, no problem. Today was the forme” >

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Liz. Feel free to post on the Old Dover page. In fact, if you like you can share this same post directly from my FB artist page Paula Ogier Artworks. And yes to the SoWa website! Coloring book may be a while before it’s published…I’m still not sure what my timeline looks like on that. I appreciate your enthusiasm.
      Paula

      Like

Leave a Reply

