In the Hood
Comments 2

A Boston View Whose Days Are Numbered

Paula Ogier art

“View from East Canton Street” by Paula Ogier

The view seen in this artwork is from my kitchen window. It’s in Boston’s SoWa neighborhood, which for many years has been home to lots of old brick factory warehouse buildings.

Recently an entire block between here and there was purchased by a developer planning to building 11 story and 19 story residences on it, so there’s a very high probability that in a couple of years this view will no longer exist.

I’d originally named this painting “East Dedham Street,” but recently realized it’s actually Plympton Street. Knowing that the view may not be around much longer, I’ve decided instead to rename this piece “View from East Canton Street.”

My thanks to the SoWa Artists Guild for sharing my painting today.

Have a great day.

Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: In the Hood

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

2 Comments

  1. Many thanks, Carrie. It reminds me of a similar story of art reflecting changing times. A piece I made in 2014 features a tree encircled by the base of a footbridge to the Esplanade. I learned a few months ago that the tree has been cut down as part of a renovation. Both images will soon feel like part of the past! Thanks for reading.
    Paula

    Like

Leave a Reply

