Animal Urges
Leave a Comment

Animal Portraits Then & Now

pet portrait in progress

Luca portrait still in progress, Paula Ogier

I’m currently at work on a new dog portrait and these are some of the stages I’ve gone through so far. Earlier this month, I wrote about some of my process when working on portraits. I start out doing the underpainting and then move on to details. I’ll share the completed portrait of Luca here in the blog when I finish it.

I’ve been sharing a lot of dog portraits in process here recently, so I thought I’d show you some cat portraits I’ve done, too. Although they are not all “in progress” — regularly saving the images in stages is a more recent habit of mine.

The following are a few of my favorite cat portraits. Bobby and Bing were a cat and hamster from the same home. I still remember how challenging it was to photograph the little hamster (Bing) as he ran around. I was down on the floor on my side, but still he was just a blur and really hard to get a good photo of. Bobby and Bing were so unbalanced in size that I had to create some sort of vehicle (the flower) to elevate Bing and bring attention to him.

cat portrait

Bobby and Bing (copyright © 2011 Paula Ogier)

I do have one in-progress image from the portrait I did of Xocolatl, a gorgeous Siamese kitty:

Xocolatl in progress LR

Xocolatl in progress

pet portrait

Xocolatl (Copyright © 2013 Paula Ogier)

Ernest and Harold were a pair of 3 month old litter mates when I met and photographed them in 2012. They were adorable! See for yourself:

cat portraits

Ernest and Harold at 3 months old

The couple who had recently adopted them really liked orange. Knowing that I don’t typically paint animals in their literal colors, I was asked if I would paint them in orange. I agreed, and actually love the way this one came out. I also thought it was sweet that the portrait was commissioned of them as kittens, to remember them as babies. And here’s the portrait:

cat portrait

Ernest and Harold (Copyright © 2012 Paula Ogier)

I have not seen Ernest and Harold since, and I guess they’d be nearing their 4th birthday soon. It would be fun to see them now!

Here’s wishing you a lovely weekend.

Paula
Paula Ogier Artworks

This entry was posted in: Animal Urges

by

Hi there. I’m artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about new works, projects in process, life as a working artist, life in Boston, and inspirations and challenges in growing an art business. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, talking to cats, food & drink, gardening, wandering around on foot, binge-watching well written shows, and of course, making art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is in Boston's SoWa Arts District at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

