Work in Progress
Comment 1

Row House Art

 

Rowhouse art

A detail from “The House at No. 3” (working title), a work in progress

Rowhouses, like so many of the mid-1800s era ones found here in Boston, often capture my imagination. You know that delicious spy-like feeling of strolling through your neighborhood just after twilight, when the lights are going up in homes and you catch a fleeting glimpse inside? I love seeing that tiny sliver of domestic life in passing.

My latest endeavor (seen in bits and pieces here) actually began close to a year ago. It started with a rowhouse and a 60s-inspired psychedelia design motif that I wanted to pair with each other. I just couldn’t figure out where it was going. The spaces between my puttering around with it grew bigger and bigger. Eventually, it seemed like a project worth forgetting. I looked at it again recently, and after stumbling off in a couple of short-lived directions, I started to think about it differently.

It’s gratifying to see a piece shift from uncertainty to having a sense of direction. That can take me through various stages of experimentation. I love when the working and reworking brings me out to the other side and I feel like I’m closing in on the finished scene.

 

Rowhouse art

A detail from “The House at No. 3” (working title), a work in progress

I guess you could say this painting is a contemplation of the mysteries behind the doors and windows we pass by. It leaves plenty for the viewer to imagine, but expresses (for me, at least) the sense of energy, curiosity and bliss that home can be.

Blocking out 12 hours of the week solely for art making is sometimes more challenging than I expect it to be. When I first decided to clock my weekly hours painting, I thought it would be easy enough to log 15 hours a week. I was wrong. Life, as they say.

 

Rowhouse art

A detail from “The House at No. 3” (working title), a work in progress

So I lowered my expectation to 12 hours per week. This week I surpassed that amount of time, but other weeks I only manage to get in 7 or 8 hours.

It occurred to me this week that I could resolve that by spending one evening, after dinner, on my latest painting project. That worked, along with front loading the week with painting so that more of it was accomplished sooner.

I’ll show you this in one piece when it’s ready.

Happy Friday!

Paula
Paula Ogier Artworks

Visit my online print store.

 

 

This entry was posted in: Work in Progress

by

Hi there. I’m artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about new works, projects in process, life as a working artist, life in Boston, and inspirations and challenges in growing an art business. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, talking to cats, food & drink, gardening, wandering around on foot, binge-watching well written shows, and of course, making art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is in Boston's SoWa Arts District at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: After Midnight at No. 3 | Let Me Illustrate My Point

Leave a Reply

