Learning, The Art Biz
Leave a Comment

Podcasts I’m Listening To

art business podcasts

At one time I wouldn’t have thought I could listen to podcasts while making art. Music, sure. Or silence, that’s also good. But people talking? How utterly distracting and antithetical to getting in the zone!

Somewhere along the line, I had a change of heart about that. When the inside of my own head gets boring, then I really do like listening to podcasts while working on painting projects. It began last winter with a desire to absorb more art business knowledge, whether practical advice or inspirational ideas. Then friends began talking about the Serial podcasts, so I listened to a few episodes and from there I had to hear them all.

This week I stumbled upon author Elizabeth Gilbert’s Magic Lessons podcast series. I don’t know why I haven’t made an effort to read Ms. Gilbert’s Big Magic book yet. It’s not like I don’t know how much I enjoy reading her easygoing and eloquent writing style. In fact, I’m setting an intention right this moment to get a copy and read it. In the meantime, these short (about 20 minutes each), breezy talks — or as she puts it, “real conversations with real people” — are casual, fun, and thought-provoking. Mostly they center around creativity, or around the dilemmas sometimes faced by creative spirits.

I like Monica Lee’s podcast show Smart Creative Women about the joys and challenges of artistic businesses. I especially liked the conversation with illustrator/painter Suzy Pilgrim Waters and her husband Keith about their textile design business.

Artists Helping Artists is fast becoming my all-time favorite podcast series. Hosted by artist Leslie Saeta from Pasadena, it has revolving co-hosts and so much practical business information for artists.

I don’t knit, I don’t quilt, and I certainly don’t applique. Yet I enjoy listening to the Craftsanity podcast series, which is particularly geared to people who engage in such endeavors. I appreciate hearing regular people like me talk about how they started creative businesses, and how they manage and integrate them into their regular lives. The show’s host, Jennifer Ackerman-Haywood, is based in Michigan. Her guests are artists and crafters. I typically scan the list of topics for non-fiber art stuff, but when those run out, I’m pretty sure I’ll listen to the rest because I do like the conversations. Abby Glassenberg’s While She Naps also runs along those same lines: what it takes to build a creative business.

I occasionally visit Arel Moodie‘s The Art of Likability podcast series. A few of the guests have felt a little too testosterone-pumped for my tastes (and that very possibly has to do with my wanting to make art while listening), but recently Arel had a conversation with super down-to-earth attorney Rachel Rogers called “How to Likably Confront People” that I thought was a great common sense life issues kind of chat. Good food for thought.

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in: Learning, The Art Biz

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

