Animal Urges
Comment 1

A Portrait Completed

animal portraits

Molly’s portrait freshly printed

Two weeks ago I showed you a dog portrait in progress. At that time I was working on the underpainting for this portrait of Molly, a very lovely Newfoundland Mastiff. You can see some of the stages of the underpainting phase below.

I met Molly and took photographs of her before starting this digital painting. She was a calm subject and I was able to get some nice clear images of her. I used dark purples to represent Molly’s mostly black coat, gradually going a very slight shade lighter with each new level of highlight.

paula ogier portrait in progresspaula ogier portrait in progress

Dog portrait in processDog portrait in process

Since then I added texture and movement in the hairs, and worked on blending the colors of the eyes.

My printer Mark Peterson (who is also a talented urban photographer) showed me how to set up my Apple monitor to color sync with his printer. This allows me to determine in advance which “rendering intent” I prefer.

To explain it simply, there are four options of rendering intents, each one having its own effect on the coloring. One might accentuate the blue tones in the purples, while another might bring out the red tones in those same purples. That’s exactly what happened in this case, and I chose the more blue rendering of the purples. Set against the blue background, the inherent reds in the purple already come forward naturally and I didn’t want to make them appear rosy. The final image, to me, has a good balance of warm and cool tones.

Paula Ogier pet portrait

Portrait of Molly

Here’s more about Newfoundland Mastiffs.

Here’s my previous post about this particular work in progress.

See more of my animal portraits here.

Or, see it all!

Paula

This entry was posted in: Animal Urges

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Animal Portraits Then & Now | Let Me Illustrate My Point

Leave a Reply

