Winter Warmers
Leave a Comment

How I Look at Winter

Snow art

Tremont Street (Copyright © 2010 Paula Ogier)

I would never go so far as to say I find winter in Boston fun.

Bracing, yes. Interesting, maybe. Challenging, sometimes. But fun? No.

Winter here has a big upside for me, though. It kills my urge to get outside. So unless I’m going to the movies, a meal with friends, or some other decidedly indoor event, I’ll think twice about pulling all those clothes on and slogging out into the cold and wind.

That means I tend to stay put and spend a lot more hours making art in winter. That’s a good thing, and that’s fun.

Some of my wintry city paintings are among my favorites, ironically enough. Like the image above that began with a photograph I took along Tremont Street in Boston’s South End. I painted the photo, working in Photoshop, with just a little bit of translucency. This allows the basic structure of the photographic image to still be seen. The orange-pinks of the rowhouses and streetlight give off a glowing warmth in contrast to the cold precipitating sky.

Heat versus cold, dry versus wet. The appreciation of having a warm roof over one’s head. The comfort and enjoyment of looking out the windows at nature making its own painting.

As always, thank you so much for reading. If you’re in the Boston area, you can visit my studio at 450 Harrison Avenue, #203, on the First Friday evening of each month. Located in the SoWa art district, my studio building has 60-70 artist studios open for visitors from 5-9 pm every First Friday.

Paula

Paula Ogier Artworks

 

This entry was posted in: Winter Warmers

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

