The Art Biz
Comment 1

The Little Stuff: Art Biz Details

rubber stamp art

Using rubber stamps I had carved, I created these fun return address labels.

As Boston singer/songwriter Jim Infantino (AKA Jim’s Big Ego) used to sing way back in 1995, “It’s the little things that get you when you weren’t paying attention.” 

When I moved into my studio a year and a half ago, I didn’t even have mailing tubes. Who knew people would be walking in wanting to plunk down a credit card and go home with a print? Believe it or not, it didn’t occur to me. I was so caught up in everything involved in renting the studio — getting insurance, signing the lease, paying guild dues, cleaning, figuring out the layout, setting up furniture, unpacking supplies, buying new computer equipment — not to mention getting art up on the walls for the big annual neighborhood-wide open studio weekend happening 2 days after I moved in! That was stressful.

When I lost two sales because studio visitors needed a tube to take their prints on flights home, the light finally clicked on upstairs. Now I always keep plenty of tubes on hand.

Today I experimented with making return address labels (that’s them up there) using some rubber stamps I made earlier in the year. I liked the way they turned out and it reminded me that I’d like adhesive labels to put on the tubes that people take their prints home in. I decided to make a new stamp scene consisting of several Boston-esque rowhouses that fit the dimensions of the mailing label. Here’s the chunk of rubber with my pencil drawing, before I began carving the lines:

rubber stamp art

Once it was carved, I tried a variety of ink colors and shades. I also varied how firmly I pressed them down. I even did some extra carving on it after I’d made a batch of labels, and then created more labels with the slightly different design. I wanted each one to be slightly different from the next.

And voila:

rubber stamp art

I’m happy with them and love that each one is unique. Now I’ve got ideas for more…

But before I go, here’s that aforementioned Jim Infantino song. It’s called Stress.

Cheers,
Paula
Paula Ogier Artworks

This entry was posted in: The Art Biz

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Art Biz Details | Boston Artist

Leave a Reply

