Tick Tock
Leave a Comment

Painted Photography: The Old Clock in Harvard Square

Digital art cityscapes

“The Old Clock” (Copyright © 2014 Paula Ogier)

“The Old Clock” is one of my painted photographs.

I have always had a fondness for these old standing clocks you see around Boston and neighboring towns. To me they are so evocative of another time, with their non-digital faces and lovely sculptural details. I try to imagine what was going on around them when they were first erected.

This clock is located in Harvard Square, on Massachusetts Avenue, across from the Out of Town News stand.

When painting this piece, I viewed the twigs of the tree branches as lines in the sky. Each of these lines creates a shape when it connects to another line. By painting each of these shapes in varying shades of translucent purples and roses, a kaleidoscope effect is achieved in the sky beyond the leaves of the tree.

When I look at this, it feels like sunset hour to me. In fact, I took the original photo in the middle of the day—hence the one o’clock reading of the clock. It also feels like another time (no pun intended)…that is, a simpler, more quiet era.

Have a lovely Sunday.

Paula

See more of my cityscape art.

This entry was posted in: Tick Tock

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

