My Town
Leave a Comment

Boston Local: Marathon Monday

Hoorah for Runners
Today’s the Boston Marathon, and the city is bustling with out-of-towners. As of this mid-morning writing, it’s 42 degrees out, the sky is grey, and there is a 35% chance of precipitation (increasing over the day).

The Boston Marathon finish line is on Boylston Street in the Back Bay. For those of you who see color or hear music wherever you are (or just wish you did), here’s my multi-layered Back Bay Bossa Nova.

Boston Marathon 2015

Back Bay Bossa Nova (Mixed Media, Copyright © 2014 Paula Ogier)

Remember this May 2013 Boston Magazine cover (pictured below)?

In 2013, on the heels of the Marathon Day bombing that caused horrific injuries to many spectators and killed three, Boston Magazine put out this evocative cover.

Boston Magazine The Shoes We Wore Cover
Image by Mitch Feinberg

Read Boston Magazine’s The Shoes We Wore.

Here’s where they explain how they did it.

_________________________________

Citgo-a-go-go
Tom McCarthy is a Boston-based oil painter with a studio in my building. He has painted a series of works based on Boston’s iconic Kenmore Square Citgo sign that I happen to think are marvelous.  Here’s Tom McCarthy’s online gallery.

_________________________________

Another Iconic Boston Sign
I also think of the art deco Paramount Theatre as having one of Boston’s iconic signs.

Paramount Theatre Boston

Paramount (Mixed Media, Copyright © 2009 Paula Ogier)

______________________________

Hope’s Joy
Competitive distance runner Hope Phelan, also an artist, grew up watching the Boston Marathon. Her new series of paintings  attempts to express the joy of the race.

Read Runner’s World’s Runner and Artist Creates Paintings Inspired by Boston Marathon.

______________________________

In the Hood
Immediately adjacent to the Back Bay is Boston’s South End neighborhood, where I live and have my art studio. As I’ve begun walking through the South End again—now minus the massive piles of hardened snow—I’m reminded of how much I like the sights and sounds of it. Granted, after being cooped up indoors a lot this winter, breathing fresh air and feeling the sun on my face again doesn’t hurt either.

Coloring Books for adults

Coloring in my South End neighborhood work-in-progress

My project of a coloring book for adults with a resident’s view of Boston is underway. I liked this recent South End door and stoop illustration so much that I rushed to start coloring it in. I started noticing partway through coloring it that I’d left out some important lines. I’d also left in some unnecessary ones.  So it’s back to the drawing board, literally, for this image.

Have a fabulous day!

Paula

More of my CITYSCAPE ART.

Leave a Reply

