In the Studio
Leave a Comment

Snowbound = Busy

Greetings! There’s been a lot going on in my creative world this winter. I have to admit, the never-ending snowstorms here in Boston were good for my productivity. It was difficult to get around—as a result, I didn’t go out much and longer stretches of my time went into art making. Here’s a quick look at what I’ve been up to.

Portraits
To my surprise, I’ve already finished four commissioned animal portraits since the new year.

Boston pet portrait

Peanut
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

Boston pet portrait

Jaeger
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

Boston pet portrait

Cali
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

Boston pet portrait

Trudy
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier) 

Posters
I have some new poster designs in the works. One involves a series of vignettes in a layout that I haven’t quite figured out yet. Another is just a twinkle in my eye, but I have some fun ideas for it. Here’s one 16″ x 20″ poster I finished recently, which I sold my first print of this week! This is for you crazy cat ladies and dudes out there.

Crazy Cat Ladies

CAT is where its at
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

You can see more poster art here.

Rubber Stamp Making
I’ve been carving some stamps that I’ll most likely layer in to some mixed media digital paintings. I bought some cookie cutters in shapes I liked, and found that with the soft rubber known as Speedy-cut, a rubber mallet and a lot of patience, I could use the cutters to cut a shape from the rubber at once, and then carve designs in it from there.

cookie cutters for stampmaking

These are the cookie cutter shapes I selected

What I also discovered is that the Speedy-cut is a very crumbly rubber and it produces messy little debris balls that interfere with the stamping process. I ditched the Speedy-cut in favor of the Speedy-carve (both are made by Speedball), a harder rubber that is easier to keep clean and smooth. Unfortunately, the harder rubber is too hard for the cookie cutters to cut through, so now I just use the cutters as stencils.

Rubber stampmaking

Peeling out a cut shape from the softer, crumblier Speedy-cut rubber

rubber stamp carving

Instead of transferring an image, I drew directly on the rubber with pencil.

The stamps I made have their share of imperfections. I’ll be going back in and fine tuning some of them, while others I rather like with their imperfections. I couldn’t resist the urge to start stamping with them right away, just to see how they look and to get ideas for how I might use them. Some I pressed onto ink pads while others I painted with brush markers.

rubber stampmaking

Colorful images made from rubber stamps I carved

New Designs on Products
Some of my art is licensed to DENY Designs for use on some fun & functional home accessories. My 60s-inspired “All You Need,” pictured here, is one example.

60s inspired art

All You Need
(Copyright © 2015 Paula Ogier)

“All You Need” is printed on this “bling box” cover, making it both a work of art and a hanging jewelry box. It is framed in 100% sustainable amber bamboo.  It has built-in clear, acrylic hooks and holds over 120 pieces of jewelry!

Wall mounted jewelry boxWall mounted jewelry boxWall mounted jewelry box

Here’s where to buy it.

With spring peeking out at us from beneath the melting snow, it seems fitting to show you some of my nature-inspired artworks on duvet covers, also from DENY Designs.

Nature inspired duvet covers

Here’s where to buy duvet covers.

Salon Sunday
If you’re local to Boston and haven’t been to the SoWa Arts District yet, here’s your chance to find all 80-some artists at 450 Harrison Avenue with their doors open. On Sunday, March 29 from noon-5 pm, you can meet some of Boston’s best painters, sculptors, photographers, jewelers, fiber artists, encaustic painters and mixed media artists. There will be plenty of art for sale and you can buy directly from the artists.

There is free parking in the lots that day.

Here are the details.

450 Harrison Avenue studios

This is what our studio building entrance looked like a few weeks ago, but the snow is almost gone now.

Top Ten Arts Districts in U.S.
Here’s an introduction to USA TODAY’s 10 Best Art Districts, and I’m happy to tell you that the Boston SoWa Arts District came in #2 in the Reader’s Choice awards. First place went to the Northeast Minneapolis Arts District. They all look worth visiting!

Til next time,

Paula

This entry was posted in: In the Studio

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

