In the Studio
Leave a Comment

Making Friends with Gorillapod

Paula Ogier artist studio

I tried out the Gorillapod in the studio today, after debating how to transport it there. It’s got strong magnetic feet, so I didn’t want to put it in my backpack with my computer or in my purse with my phone and credit cards. I decided to carry it separately in a little bag.

In the studio my metal standing lamp made a handy portable pole to attach the gorillapod to with my camera phone in it. It was at times clumsy and awkward to twist the pod legs to just the right angle without dropping the phone. Once I got used to it, it was fun.

I finally found the timer on my camera phone and set up some timed shots with me in them. It’s so great to be able to take a clear non-wiggly shot using the Gorillapod to steady the camera.

Paula Ogier artist

My studio neighbor popped by and he mentioned a similar device, but a clamp style, made by a company called Dinkum. Those too look like they could be useful.

Speaking of things that happen in the studio, wanna see some of my art?

Cheers,

Paula

This entry was posted in: In the Studio

by

Hi there. I’m Boston-based digital artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about my art business, new works, projects in process, life in Boston, inspirations, ideas, and creative challenges. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood, in the enclave known as the SoWa Art + Design district. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, food & drink, gardening, wandering around the city on foot, binge-watching well written shows, talking to cats, and of course, making and experiencing art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

