Ruminations
Leave a Comment

Technology, Travels, and Toulouse-Lautrec

Gorillapod

I arrived back home to Boston late last night to find that the Gorillapod I purchased has arrived! Supposedly I’ll be able to wrap this thing around poles, etc. The little red feet are magnetic. There’s an app for a timer, allowing for hands-free photographing. Alas, I must first tackle the unsavory task of reading the instructions. That’s never my favorite part.

Our long weekend in NYC included visits with friends and family, an abundance of good food, and a bitterly cold afternoon spent at MOMA.

It was a quick and spontaneous decision to head over to MOMA and I didn’t even know what was on exhibit until getting there. There turned out to be a wonderful print exhibit going on called The Paris of Toulouse-Lautrec: Prints and Posters.

There are so many things I enjoyed about this show, from Toulouse-Lautrec’s graphic mastery of line and composition, to the descriptive atmosphere the collection paints of a time and place, to the use of color and coloring techniques to achieve dimension and texture. I loved seeing his posters with registration marks on the sides and top, indicative of the color layering process that would have taken place back then in the late 1800s. Perhaps because I first learned about production art in the 80s and I now regularly paint in Photoshop, it’s also fun for me to think about the parallels and differences between this layering process and the modern day layering done with Photoshop.

The exhibit is there until March 22, so if you’re in NYC and appreciate graphic arts and poster art, it’s worth a visit.

Our Greyhound bus ride back to Boston last night was behind schedule, and the bus’s wi-fi was not working. I resorted to following the Oscars on Twitter on my phone. While mildly amusing and better than nothing, I’m sure I would have preferred to watch it on a television. Still, the very fact that I can sit on a bus and do such a thing for four hours is pretty great. ‘Twas not so long ago that such things were not an option.

Back to reading the Gorillapod instructions…

May your day be sweet.

Paula

Some poster art of my own.

This entry was posted in: Ruminations

by

Hi there. I’m artist Paula Ogier. In this blog I write about about new works, projects in process, life as a working artist, life in Boston, and inspirations and challenges in growing an art business. I live and work in Boston's South End neighborhood. I'm fond of big cities, architecture, great imaginative spaces, talking to cats, food & drink, gardening, wandering around on foot, binge-watching well written shows, and of course, making art. Artist website: PaulaOgierArt.com. Twitter: Paula Ogier Artworks My studio is in Boston's SoWa Arts District at 450 Harrison Avenue, Studio 203.

Leave a Reply

